Virgil Walker and Chad Connelly join Conservative Baptist Network Steering Council

Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


Dec. 7, 2020

Contact: Brad Jurkovich, spokesman, Conservative Baptist Network
(318) 588-0819

[email protected]

BOSSIER CITY, La. — The Conservative Baptist Network is pleased to announce the addition of Virgil Walker and Chad Connelly to its national Steering Council.

Virgil L. Walker is executive director of operations for G3 Ministries and co-host of the Just Thinking Podcast. He previously served for six years as discipleship pastor at Westside Church in Omaha, Neb. Walker currently attends Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary where he is working toward the completion of a Master of Divinity (MDiv). He is heavily involved in jail ministry, sidewalk ministry at abortion clinics, and street evangelism. Prior to ministry, Walker worked in the pharmaceutical sales industry where he managed award-winning sales teams. He completed his Master of Business Administration (MBA) in 2007. Walker is also a national award-winning recruiter for the Air National Guard, where he served for 12 years of both active and reserve duty. He and his wife Tomeka have been married for 25 years and have three children.

Chad Connelly served as the Republican National Committee’s first-ever national director of faith engagement and two terms as chairman of the South Carolina Republican Party. In those capacities, he traveled to 43 states and spoke to more than 85,000 pastors and faith leaders about the importance of pastoral leadership in the public arena. He serves on the boards of South Carolina Citizens for Life, the Palmetto Family Council, and the Christian Life and Public Affairs committee of the South Carolina Baptist Convention. He and his family attend First Baptist of Newberry where he is a deacon, Sunday school teacher and is past chairman of the church council. He has been a featured commentator on Fox News, CNN, MSNBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and many other networks.

The addition of Walker and Connelly continues to bolster the Network’s commitment to the Bible and biblical values as well as the way those values are represented in the public square, said Steering Council member and Sandy Creek Foundation Executive Director Z. Scott Colter.

“Virgil Walker is a leading voice advocating for the sufficiency of Scripture against worldly and unbiblical ideologies in every form,” Colter said. “His ministry reaches beyond the walls of his church and encourages thousands in faithfulness to God and His Word.  

“Chad Connelly remains on the front lines of the cultural battle for biblical values. He is a champion for pro-life causes and the Christian family. Through his work as the national director for faith engagement and as president of Faith Wins, Connelly has encouraged tens of thousands of Christians to engage on biblical issues of morality and ethics.  

“These men have stood courageously on behalf of conservative Christians, and we welcome them to the leadership of the Conservative Baptist Network.”

Network spokesman Brad Jurkovich, senior pastor of First Baptist Bossier in Bossier City, La., echoed Colter’s sentiments.

“I’ve known Chad Connelly for several years now. He is passionate to see our Southern Baptist Family stay strong as we impact America and the world with the gospel,” Jurkovich said. “His relationships with pastors and churches across America will be a tremendous help to our growing movement.”


The Conservative Baptist Network is a broad-based grassroots movement of Southern Baptists of all generations who are committed to the sufficiency of Scripture for all facets of life and application. Its 56-member Steering Council includes pastors and laypeople from across America, including well-known figures such as former Atlanta fire chief Kelvin Cochran, former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, Family Research Council President Tony Perkins, past SBC President Charles Stanley, Billy Graham Evangelistic Association Vice President Tom Phillips, and immediate past SBC Executive Committee Chairman Mike Stone. The Steering Council can be found online at