Nineteen Georgia Baptist leaders, including 10 GBC state presidents, announce first-in-nation Conservative Baptist Network state chapter

Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


August 20, 2020


Micah Hamrick, State Coordinator for the Georgia State Chapter of the Conservative Baptist Network

(770) 459-5138

[email protected]

Brad Jurkovich, Conservative Baptist Network Spokesman
(318) 588-0819

[email protected]

Atlanta, Ga. – A large group of trusted Georgia Baptist leaders today announce the formation of the Georgia chapter of the Conservative Baptist Network. This is the first state affiliate of the national network formed in February of this year to bring positive, biblical solutions that strengthen the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) in an effort to fulfill the Great Commission and influence culture. 

The endorsers include 10 current and past Georgia Baptist Convention (GBC) presidents and nine GBC officers and other leaders, who call on all likeminded Georgia Baptists to join the Network at

CBN national spokesman Brad Jurkovich, pastor of First Baptist Bossier in Bossier City, La., enthusiastically welcomed the Georgia leaders.

“I am so excited by this incredible new partnership with Southern Baptists in Georgia,” Jurkovich said. “I’ve talked with pastors and leaders across America who are very supportive of the broader Network, but they are also eager to connect with others near where they live. 

“Georgia’s first-in-the-nation state chapter can serve as a model for others who have already joined our Network and for those looking to join. God is clearly moving, and these chapters across America will be dynamic and make a tremendous difference for the Kingdom and our SBC!”

The endorsers include:

Robby Foster is the current president of the GBC and serves as pastor of Northside Baptist Church in Valdosta.

Mike Stone is the immediate past president of the GBC and pastor of Emmanuel Baptist Church in Blackshear. He is the immediate past chairman of the SBC Executive Committee and has served on the SBC Resolutions Committee. 

Don Hattaway is a former GBC president and serves as pastor of First Baptist Church in Douglas. A graduate of Brewton-Parker and a two-time graduate of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, Dr. Hattaway has served in numerous capacities including chairing the board of trustees at both Shorter University and Brewton-Parker College.

John Waters is a former GBC president and has served 15 years as pastor of First Baptist Church in Statesboro. He currently serves as a trustee of the SBC International Mission Board (IMB). John has also served as a vice president for Brewton-Parker College.

Dan Spencer served as president of the GBC while pastoring First Baptist Church of Thomasville. He is currently pastor of First Baptist Church in Sevierville, Tenn.

Bill Ricketts is a past GBC president, and he retired as pastor of Prince Avenue Baptist Church in Athens after 43 years. He has served as a member of the SBC Executive Committee, and, as a trustee of the IMB, was a member of its most recent presidential search team.

Gerald Harris is a past GBC president and the former editor of The Christian Index. He has served as chairman of the SBC Resolutions Committee.

Wayne Robertson is a past GBC president and serves as pastor of Morningside Baptist in Valdosta. He has held numerous leadership positions including two terms on the SBC Executive Committee.

Tony Dickerson is a former GBC president, has pastored Pinehurst Baptist Church of Columbus for more than 47 years, and has served in many other denominational capacities.

John Yarbrough is a past GBC president. He has served in numerous capacities across associational, state, and national convention levels, including the SBC Executive Committee, and chaired the Implementation Taskforce for the SBC “Covenant for a New Century.”

Tommy Fountain, Sr., is chairman of the GBC Executive Committee. He has served as a pastor, evangelist, and associational missionary, and is currently pastor of 1025 Church in Monroe.

Josh Saefkow is vice chairman of the GBC Executive Committee.  He is the pastor of Flat Creek Baptist Church in Fayetteville and also serves as the GBC’s first vice president. 

Barry Snapp serves as chairman of the GBC Administration Committee, which is the executive board of the Executive Committee. He is pastor of Victory Baptist Church in Rockmart.

Javier Chavez is second vice president of the GBC. He is pastor of Amistad Cristiana Internacional of Gainesville and has served on the SBC Committee on Committees.

Derek Berry is fourth vice president of the GBC and pastor of Tabernacle Baptist Church in Hiram.

Danny Henson for many years has served as the GBC’s highly-respected recording secretary. He has recently retired as pastor of New Liberty Baptist Church in Ringgold. 

Tom Vann is a GBC officer, serving as assistant recording secretary. He has served Georgia Baptists in numerous positions and is pastor of Rentz Baptist Church.

Darey Kittle serves Georgia Baptists as assistant recording secretary and as associational missions strategist for the 68 churches of the Conasauga Baptist Association. He has been pastor of Salem Baptist Church in Dalton for 25 years.

Micah Hamrick is executive pastor at First Baptist Church in Villa Rica and has agreed to volunteer as the state coordinator for the new Georgia State Chapter. Hamrick says the endorsement by so many key leaders in Georgia Baptist life is a sign of the state’s commitment to the principles of the new network. 

“The creation of the first state chapter is an exciting part of this new grassroots movement,” Hamrick said. “And for me, personally, it is an honor to continue the legacy left by my dad.”

Hamrick is the son of the late Dr. Wayne Hamrick who served as GBC president from 2005-2007 and who was a key figure in the Conservative Resurgence in Georgia and beyond.

“We are thankful for the leadership of our state executive, Mr. Thomas Hammond,” said Mike Stone. “Just as the national CBN exists to strengthen the ministries of the SBC, this new state chapter is designed for fellowship, communication, and event promotion as we come alongside Thomas to encourage the work of Georgia Baptists. Georgia has consistently been one of the top state conventions in the SBC. With many Georgia Baptists concerned about various matters within our denomination, it is important that we strengthen that effort.”

Georgia Baptist pastors, staff, and laypersons can endorse and register with the new CBN chapter at

The Conservative Baptist Network is a broad-based grassroots movement of Southern Baptists of all generations who are committed to the sufficiency of Scripture for all facets of life and application. Its 54-member Steering Council includes pastors and laypeople from across America, including well-known figures such as former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, Family Research Council President Tony Perkins, and prominent Georgians including Emir Caner, Kelvin Cochran, Anthony George, Gerald Harris, Charles Stanley, and Mike Stone. It can be found online at